Wednesday, February 8 2023 Sign In   |    Register

News Quick Search



Front Page
Power News
Today's News
Yesterday's News
Week of Feb 06
Week of Jan 30
Week of Jan 23
Week of Jan 16
Week of Jan 09
By Topic
By News Partner
Gas News
News Customization


Pro Plus(+)

Add on products to your professional subscription.
  • Energy Archive News

    Home > News > Power News > News Article

    Share by Email E-mail Printer Friendly Print

    Zaporiyia authorities condemn Argentinean Rafael Grossi and IAEA's call for Russia to abandon nuclear plant

    November 18, 2022 - CE Noticias Financieras


      Authorities in the Zaporiyia region - a Ukrainian territory annexed by Russia through an internationally unrecognized referendum - called the resolution of the board of governors of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) that called on Russia to abandon the eponymous nuclear power plant "shameful." "By passing a shameful and politically motivated resolution, the IAEA turns into an incompetent structure that trades its suitability and professionalism in favor of the political interests of the West," Vladimir Rogov, a member of the Zaporiyya regional administration, told Russia's Sputnik news agency. Apparently, Rogov added, "the IAEA deliberately forgets that the nuclear power plant is now on Russian territory since the Zaporiyia region was incorporated into Russia at the end of September." [caption id="attachment_1035742" align="alignnone" width="905"]

      Rafael Grossi[/caption] "Following the IAEA's logic - the official stressed - that body could demand that the Ukrainian regime give up its Rovno or Khmelnitsky nuclear power plants, or the Americans their atomic plants." Earlier, the IAEA board of governors had endorsed that resolution with the votes of the United States, Bulgaria, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Great Britain, Slovenia, Czech Republic and Turkey, all NATO members, as well as Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Finland, Guatemala, Ireland, Japan, Qatar, South Korea, Singapore, Switzerland and Uruguay. [caption id="attachment_1031539" align="alignnone" width="700"]

      Zaporiyia nuclear power plant, Ukraine.[/caption] Russia and China voted against, India, Kenya, Namibia, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, South Africa and Vietnam abstained. Burundi and Libya did not participate in the vote. The Zaporiyia nuclear power plant, the largest in Europe, is in the town of Energodar, on the banks of the Kakhovka reservoir, in an area controlled since last March by Russian troops. For months, Russia and Ukraine have been accusing each other of shelling the plant's facilities. The plant's six reactors are shut down, to minimize the risk of their exposure to the ongoing armed conflict. Early last October, several days after Russia unilaterally annexed the province of Zaporiyia, President Vladimir Putin decreed the transfer of the plant to the Russian federal patrimony.


    Other Articles - International


       Home  -  Feedback  -  Contact Us  -  Safe Sender  -  About Energy Central   
    Copyright © 1996-2023 by CyberTech, Inc. All rights reserved.
    Energy Central® and Energy Central Professional® are registered trademarks of CyberTech, Incorporated. Data and information is provided for informational purposes only, and is not intended for trading purposes. CyberTech does not warrant that the information or services of Energy Central will meet any specific requirements; nor will it be error free or uninterrupted; nor shall CyberTech be liable for any indirect, incidental or consequential damages (including lost data, information or profits) sustained or incurred in connection with the use of, operation of, or inability to use Energy Central. Other terms of use may apply. Membership information is confidential and subject to our privacy agreement.